Download Festival Survival Guide for the Chronically Ill

Otherwise known as Jess has listened to too much FOB and made her titles way too long.

Hello all!

I am here with a promised post (is this reality???) before I go off to the festival! It’s written quite tongue in cheek (because that is me all over) although this is pretty much what I’m taking with me (along with all the usual festival stuff) so please don’t feel bad (if you do that is. I find the whole thing amusing, so you should too!). The return of way too many parentheses. Oops. Also, some things are not featured because I have no clue where they are.

First thing on the list is sunglasses.
DSCN4501
Prescription sunglasses, that is. So that you can actually see what you’re looking at. They’re a very handy piece of kit that healthy people would use to protect from the sun’s beams, but we use them for many purposes. Like being protected from the extremely bright light shows (I’m looking at you, Muse).

I would show ear plugs next (what a brilliant idea, going to a concert only to get it muffled. Can’t have it all, eh?) but I have no idea where dad has put them. They’re very useful though, I thought I’d need them when I last went (especially for Rammstein), but I managed to escape that. Mum said that this year to see Muse I will need them. It seems this post is mainly how to protect against seeing Muse . . . Let’s change that!

Next up is all the medical-y things that help you to get through however long you’re going to be at the festival. As we’re only seeing 4 bands (One tomorrow, one Saturday and two Sunday), I don’t need to take too many, especially as we just drive home afterwards.

The anti-nausea things

The anti-nausea things

Painkillers and inhaler, just in case

Painkillers and inhaler, just in case

Sea bands and an extra dose of anti-emetics (well within the guidelines, before you wonder) to help before the journey. Polos to help throughout the performance. I went through a whole packet of Polos the last time I went, too many anxiety attacks and sudden onsets of nausea. It’s quite a good method though.

Painkillers (again, taken at the appropriate times) for when you need it, just in case your wheelchair/scooter/the seats provided end up painful. Or you head-bang too much and your neck hurts. Either or. Inhaler just in case the hayfever causes any issues. Should probably say at this moment if you have hayfever, take the appropriate meds that you need or use eye drops (another item that I have no idea of the whereabouts but shall be using).

Next are two neck related things. They may slightly hinder head-banging, but I’m hoping there won’t be any of that this year.

A neck cooling thing. Technical name

A neck cooling thing. Technical name

Neck support-y thing. Technical name

Neck support-y thing. Technical name

The neck cooling thing is gonna help with the heat and reduce any pain from sitting upright for too long. Just a bit of water on the collar bit and you’re good to go! Slightly sticky though (that might be because it’s old and got a lot of use at Download 2010 . . .) so best not to wear anything you really love.

The neck support-y thing is a new addition. With mum and I both having issues with our heads being too heavy for our necks, this should help lessen the pain. We’ve not tried them out before, so this is our first adventure with it. I’m sure I’ll report back on it after the event.

Lastly it’s the car journey. Things needed to make sure your journey to and from Download is as smooth as possible and that you don’t get sensory overload after each performance.
DSCN4508
An eye mask, a v shaped pillow and blanket. You’d be surprised at how achy/cold your legs get after sitting outside for an hour plus. Or maybe not. You might be more experienced than I am at going out. I digress. It helps to have a little safe haven in the car waiting for you when you come back from a wild night. I recommend it!

And I think that’s about it. If you have all the usual stuff you need (wellies/sturdy boots you don’t mind getting muddy, ponchos/macs, whatever else you take) and this, I’m pretty sure you’ll manage to get through the weekend. This is what I’ll be taking with me and I’m sure it’ll make the experience more pleasurable after an MRI adventure.

With that, I’ll go. I should hopefully see you afterwards, though don’t be surprised if you don’t hear anything for a little while. We all remember the last time!
See you soon,
Jess x

4 thoughts on “Download Festival Survival Guide for the Chronically Ill

  1. That’s a lot of ‘stuff’ !!! Times two with your Mum’s aswell! Glad it all fits in the car. 🙂 Hope you have an awesome time and recovery is quicker than we expect? Xxx

Leave a Reply

