A trip down memory lane

They’ve changed how you make posts on here and I really don’t like it.

Hello there!

I’m a little bit early with this post because I’m bursting (maybe a slight exaggeration) with excitement, which may result in this post being a little more . . . shoddy, than it should be. This also means that photos aren’t great quality (I just tried taking some on my camera but night-time light and general shakiness results in bad photos), so you get a lovely phone picture instead. Anyway, I have written a few times before that I have been attempting to relearn the violin and well, I’ve managed it.

I have always thought of myself as having multiple ways to express my thoughts, whether it be creative writing, music or (rather badly, I will admit) dancing. Once I lost the ability to do any of that after becoming severely poorly, I had pretty much written off doing any of it again. In fact, I had been so sure I’d never do anything again that I got rid of all of my sheet music and rested my violin on top of the wardrobe where it would never be used again.

Or so I had thought.

When I dug it out last year I thought, at most, I’d learn how to hold it again and that’d be that. This year, however, with falling in love with Middle Earth and the excellent soundtracks by Howard Shore, I promptly decided to have a go at learning it properly. I will tell you this now, learning on a 3/4 violin is a bit tricky, but I managed to learn a bit of In Dreams eventually. Sadly, my very lovely metallic purple violin was causing me more trouble than enjoyment so I decided to go on the hunt for a new one.
IMG_7182
I told you it’d be a bad picture.

Isn’t it beautiful? A lovely colour and a lovely sound too. Practise has been much easier, although my poor arms and shoulders don’t quite agree with that. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get some lessons next year and maybe hopefully find something where I could perform, like I did a while back.

I feel like I have parts of myself back, creative writing and violin. It feels amazing and although I lose focus a lot (which my friends rally me back into focused-ness), it’s worth it. I feel more complete and it’s so nice after so many years of lost hope. I don’t think I can describe to anyone exactly how it feels, but that’s as close as I can get it.

See you soon 🙂
Jess x

2 thoughts on “A trip down memory lane

  1. It was so good to hear you play your new violin for us on the day you had just bought it. I remember the pride and pleasure I felt watching your concert before you became so poorly. Have fun. Xxx

  2. Pingback: Summary of 2014 | Rose Vampire

Leave a Reply

