What happened?

I wrote last year in my introduction to home education that I felt kind of left out in the education department which is something I still struggle with – especially when my friends go back to school. I mentioned in another post on the same topic that I would probably study at the OU.

Yesterday and today I’ve been kind of planning the route I want to go down. Education is really important to me, as well as the more helpful things like how to run a house. After discussions with my friends, I’ve decided I would like to return to education, to further my knowledge in subjects I love. At first, I’d found a course on the OU that I would’ve loved to have started next year, but due to being out of formal education for so long, it wasn’t feasible. Instead, I talked to my mum about it and we decided I should try to get my English skills – and my brain – in working order so that I could do the English GCSE next September. It kind of stresses me out at the thought of it, but I know it’ll be worthwhile.

After that I might do the A-Level or just go to do the course. It also helps that the course puts your footing in both English/creative writing and history, so it’s definitely something that would be of help to me. I then had a little more of a look (once you start looking at courses, you can’t seem to stop) and turns out the modules in the history degree look really interesting. A bit too interesting. Turns out I quite like the idea of getting a history degree, even though I’ve never wanted to do the uni thing at all. Bugger.

It does worry me that I might not be able to have enough energy to do it. It also worries me because education is really expensive. I’m quite worried about it all, but at the same time I’m excited at the prospect of being able to do something that I never thought I’d be able to return to. I’m glad that I didn’t do GCSEs at whatever age I was meant to, I would not have been ready for it and I know I would’ve ended up making the wrong choice. I know though that if I can do it I will give it my best shot, like I do with (nearly) everything.

Like I said, I am worried I won’t be able to have enough energy to do it. That does frighten me a bit, but then I look at the fact that 6 years ago I didn’t even see a future for myself, so being able to plan something like this is an incredible feeling. I have lots of things I want to do and I hope I’m doing them in the right order. Who knows, I might be out of education by the time I’m 25 (this is my maths though, so don’t quote me on that. Also . . . 25. *shudder*). Or I might be a few more qualifications further than I ever thought I would be.

I just thought I should keep you updated on that front, after all I did say I hoped to be doing more home ed blog posts and although getting back into formal education isn’t quite home ed, it’s still something!
See you soon,
Jess x

2 thoughts on “What happened?

  1. I agree with your Mum, it is lovely to see you making plans for your future. And don’t worry about the time it takes. You know how old I am (ancient) and my education is still taking place! Just keep on keeping on at your own pace. Love you. Xxx

Leave a Reply

