Catch up times

I’m being a bit cheeky here as I do have a post (or half a one, at least) that I am meant to upload, but I keep getting new things and I’m not sure how I want to lay it all out. Maybe it will be a two parter, as a make up for not blogging for a little while. Well, anyway, this post is here to serve as a little catch up!

I’ve been over doing it a little bit (or a lot, depending on your point of view) by watching The Hobbit films and Lord of the Rings (I am now part of a new fandom. Jolly good fun) last week. I am completely in love with the imagery and the text (although I’ve only read The Hobbit. Need to find a bigger print of LotR before I over do it even more!), so I’ve been quite content with immersing myself in that world. Something I feel I definitely needed after quite a few stresses over the past few weeks.

As a result of this I’ve been writing and creating things for myself, which has been very enjoyable. I feel a lot more . . . Secure, I guess is the word I’m looking for. Over the past few years I’ve had quite a few struggles with finding what I want to do in my life (a few of which I’ve documented on the blog if you’re interested in looking) and finally I’ve figured it out. Creative writing is something I’ve fallen back on many a time. Whether if I’ve wanted to do it as a career or just for me. As a kid the world of the Narnia books really inspired me to make stories of my own. I don’t know exactly where I’m going to go with it, but I feel comfortable enough with it to know that if I didn’t follow the creative path I would really regret it. In between that creative-ness I also hope to be more active on the blog I have with Ann so hopefully I can finish a few chapters, as I have been slacking in that department.

I have been looking at a short course on the OU (arts and languages, it seems quite intriguing) as I feel it’d be a good path to follow. Plus I do need something to help develop my writing skills. I will only find out after November if I’m okay to apply for it, so fingers crossed that I’ll be able to! See, I’m a bit more positive about these things, aren’t I?

What else . . . Not a lot really! I’ve been taking advantage of the colder weather and have been curled up under my massive quilt with hot drinks. I do love autumn. My mood doesn’t like it as much, but you can’t have everything. Oh, there is one thing that I have to mention. Today I burnt my hand (I really should not be allowed to cook myself breakfast) and it’s quite painful. I had plans to start back on sewing my hexie quilt, but as it hurts to bend my finger/hand (typing is proving painful) I doubt that’s going to happen until it’s healed. Hummm . . . I did get a lovely cheer up though, as my aunt and cousin came over. My cousin and I played with cars and drew pictures (Which elicited a “not good” from my cousin when he saw my car drawing). We also played with dinosaurs and Jenga, which apparently was very enjoyable as it involved knocking things over. Very funny.

Oh dear, this has been quite a lengthy post. I really should add some pictures to this to break up the words a bit. Shame they’re all for other posts that I have planned! I hope I can upload them soon. I’ll take the extra pictures I need and will get on that sharpish. 🙂

Well, I hope to see you all soon!
Jess x

2 thoughts on “Catch up times

  1. Great post,good to hear what you’ve been up to. The writing course sounds good, I remember you saying years ago about writing, it’s great that you’re feeling inspired to write more.Ouch to the burnt finger! Sounds like you have a lot of fun with your cousin,he seems quite a character.Love to you all xxx

  2. Lovely post Jess. My favourite films, ever I think, Lord of the Rings. so pleased it has inspired you for the future. I also love creative writing so am really looking forward to seeing your journey in this area. Xxx

Leave a Reply

