Charity shops are awesome

Hello!

So, as you can probably guess by the title, I’m here with a post about today’s adventures. Mum and I ventured out into the gorgeous English weather (we’ve had our days of heat, now it’s the rain’s turn) to do some bits and bobs in town. We had a look round a couple of charity shops and I’m so very glad we did!! I’ve been back in the 40s mood for a little while now and as it’s summer (apparently), my pretty wool skirts and thick cardis aren’t the best for the heat. So I had a little hunt (okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit. Mum mainly looked as I was trying to lean on the rails, so as to give my legs a break from standing) for a few summer-y items.

£3.50

£3.50

I really liked this. It’s very flowy, which will be perfect for whenever the heat comes back (not that I particularly want it to!). It is, however, see through, so I’ll need to look around for a plain white camisole or something to go underneath it.

£3

£3

This will also be rather handy, as my only other two shrug type things are black and cream. So a brown one will be handy for the floral tops I have! It ties at the waist, which is probably more late 40s style than the period I’m into. It’s lovely all the same. 😀

Such bad quality, sorry! £3.50

Such bad quality, sorry! £3.50

This pencil skirt was a much needed buy. The only skirts I own of a 40s nature are the one I made, a floral one and a tartan-y one. So if I did want to wear said floral tops, they wouldn’t exactly go! I’m a bit annoyed my hands were too shaky to get a decent picture of it, as it doesn’t really do it justice. Hey ho.

£4

£4

Close up of the print

Close up of the print

I really love my dresses. I can’t resist buying dresses that are 40s style. I have quite a few in my wardrobe now, not that I’m complaining of course. 😉 It’s quite long on me (yay for being a short arse!), so I’ll probably need to alter it a bit, but it was so pretty I just couldn’t leave it behind.

£3.95

£3.95

This one was too pretty. I have a feeling it’ll be one that makes me super static, but hey. The price of fashion? 😛 Again, it’s quite long on me, but I think that’ll be okay. I don’t generally like short (my version of short being completely different to everyone else’s!) clothes, so sometimes a long skirt is perfect. 😛 If I altered it it’d take away from the style of the skirt, so is better to leave it anyway.

So there we are! My haul for today! 😀 Coming in at just under £18, that’s not too bad I think! Especially as one item of clothing is about that nowadays. Hopefully this wasn’t too bad a post, as I’m not used to doing these sorts of things, but I really wanted to show you guys the things I had found! I would’ve take pictures of me in them, but as I’m shattered from going out, I’ll save it for another day. Although if I get on top of my hand-sewing (which I started on again yesterday, story to come soon), you’ll probably see the occasional peek of a dress or a skirt!

Well, I think that’s all for today. I’ll be back soon when the hand-sewing is nearly done! I also have made a start on the WWI wall hanging and have been taking pictures along the way, so hopefully that’ll be a good post when it’s finished. I’m also planning to make some more clothes, so when they’re done I’ll be blogging about them too. 🙂
See you soon,
Jess x

2 thoughts on “Charity shops are awesome

  1. Lots of lovely bargains Jess. I particularly like the first top and the first dress very 40’s. 🙂

Leave a Reply

