A look into the past

Hi there! 🙂

As promised on Thursday I am here to blog about something my nan found whilst re-packing some boxes. I feel like there should be a drumroll. *insert drumroll here because I can’t be bothered to embed one*

TA-DAH!
001
Oh yes, as you can probably imagine I got very excited about this. All the way from 1936, a book telling you about what to cook each month with things that are in season each month. Of course, all items (fruit and veg) have the National Mark which shows you what foods come from England and Wales (not sure why Scotland isn’t there but oh well).
002
From the good old Ministry of Agriculture. Thankfully, this is pre-war so I’m not annoyed with the War Ag (If you haven’t watched Wartime Farm you will have no idea what I’m on about. xD Go YouTube it. Go on! :D) this time. xD Mrs. Cottington Taylor was the director of the Good Housekeeping Institute and Mr. Ambrose Heath was the Cookery Correspondent to The News Chronicle. Good to know. 😀

This was the leaflet inside which tells you about the National Mark and what it means to each person:
003
I’m pretty sure we still have the National Mark, just without the map of the UK but I’m not certain, so don’t quote me on that. 😉

I had a flick through to see if there was anything we could make today and there was one recipe (so far) that sounded quite nice.
004
So, an early resolution for next year is to see if we do still have a National Mark and see if I can make some of the recipes from each month. It’ll be quite interesting to see how much we can do. 🙂

I don’t think I have much else to report, at least that relates to anything in this post. xD So I shall leave you without and see you soon, as always! 🙂
Jess x

One thought on “A look into the past

  1. Pingback: Oh my goodness! | Rose Vampire

Leave a Reply

