Experimenting

Hello there 😀

Sorry that I haven’t been blogging much. I was going to, but then I got distracted! xD Last week I had my nan stay over for a couple of days, which was lovely as we got to spend some time together without other people around. 🙂 On the Saturday my other set of grandparents came over so it was lovely to see them! 😀 Love some quality time with my grandparents! 😀 On Wednesday I went to see my aunt and cousin, it was lovely to see my cousin running around and raising his arms and going “wooooooooahhh!” in a cheer. Kids are amusing. 🙂

I have found a new addiction . . . Sewing hexies. xD You may remember that I started sewing these last year, here is the post I did. 🙂 On the Thursday evening when my nan was here last week my mum and her (I think that’s bad grammar. Oh well) got out their handsewing so I decided to do some as well. 🙂 On the Friday it was definitely a sewing day. I think I spent about ten or eleven hours sewing. I forgot to eat and drink lots as well which was bad for my energy levels. 😉 But I was very productive!
001
This was my first complete hexie flower thing 😀 I was proud of it, which is very rare for me!
007
Rapidly growing!
008
I’ve sewn a bit more since I took these pictures, but I couldn’t be bothered to take another picture. xD

I’m also in a very 1940s mood at the moment, which is fine by me. I love it. 😀 I’ve been doing my hair in ’40s style lately, although my hair isn’t great for it as it all keeps falling out of place. *sigh* Stupid hair. xD I’ve also been wearing kind of land girl style clothing (I have a kind of worker dress and have been wearing dungarees). Still need to look for more clothing. I’ve also been experimenting with some cooking. I’m not one to cook, I’d love to but I’m scared of using things in case I blow the kitchen up. Probably not good. 😉 I’ve flicked through this book:
003
And found a really good soup recipe. It’s really low maintenance so perfect for my health. 🙂 I haven’t been able to do it every day but it’s something! Here is the recipe:
004
I edited it a little bit, as we didn’t have dripping or fresh parsley and I was only doing it for me so I just changed the measurements of the veg and water. I used a chicken stock cube so that the flavour wouldn’t be just veggie.
005

006
It was quite good, I did put too much salt in though so that kinda sucked. I’ve made it again and that was much better. 😀 This lunchtime I tried to make potato floddies from the same book. I think they turned out okay but mum and I weren’t exactly sure what the texture was supposed to be like as the recipe didn’t say much and online there isn’t much help either. Hmm. Mum wasn’t keen on the texture plus she didn’t know if they were cooked or not due to the texture. xD I want to make them again but mum doesn’t want to help next time. ;D

I’ve been reading this blog and as I’ve been wanting to know more about the ’40s I managed to persuade the mother to buy me this. 😀 I know it’s American and I’m English but it can’t be that different. xD It’s an interesting read so far. This edition is from 1947. 🙂
009

I am preparing for a 1940s week with my parents, my aunt and my nan. Hopefully we’ll get everything organised in time. We’re hoping for it to end on VE Day, so that we can have a celebratory tea party. 🙂 If the weather is nice we’ll have it in the garden but as England can’t decide between snow/rain/sun I’m not getting my hopes up!

Anyway, that’s pretty much what I’ve been up to the last week or so! I’ll probably blog again soon as my hexies grow. xD
Jess x

4 thoughts on “Experimenting

  1. Lovely long post Jess. 🙂 Your hexies are looking fab. I really enjoyed spending time with you for the couple of days and loved that we were sewing together. 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing your quilt grow over the next few months(?) years(?). :)) What to wear for the 1940’s week?? I hope you’ve got some ideas for me! 🙂 Xxx

    • Hehe thank you! It was awesome 😀 Hmmmm may be years at this rate! 😀 Hmm it’s up to you as long it’s 40s inspired 😀 I haven’t been thinking *bad person* I probably should as it’s a week today! EEEEEEEEEEEE!! 😀 xxx

  2. Pingback: Things go a bit wrong. Oops | Rose Vampire

  3. Pingback: Quick craft update | Rose Vampire

Leave a Reply

