Home Ed introduction

Hi there!

So I normally write about my day-to-day life, living with M.E and other random things that pop into my head. I hope to start documenting my home ed doings and I also hope that it is of some use to you.
Home ed is great, you can choose whether you want to stick to the curriculum (but at your own pace) or just pick subjects and study them and build up on that. With my M.E I don’t have the brain power (at the moment) to keep focusing on my studies. Hence the fact I am 16 and could not tell you something from Biology or something about a text in English. I fell really poorly in 2008, just before the start of my first year at secondary school. I haven’t been in full-time, formal education since the second day of Year 7 (I managed one and a half days at school. Something I keep reminding people of!) and in 2010 my mum took the decision to home educate me.
I used to have tutors from 2009 to 2010 but because I was so poorly I couldn’t concentrate on my work, I kept having panic attacks before the tutors would arrive and yeah, it wasn’t the best education experience ever!
Part of me wishes I had been home educated earlier because I would have gotten into the swing of being at home and learning instead of a school environment. Having been at school up until secondary school makes you think you are doing everything wrong with your life because you aren’t following “the norm”. Some days I agree that it’s just a bit of paper, a bit of paper that says I can do something “up to standard” and that all I need is life skills because that is what truly matters. Other days I freak out and think “Well hang on my friends are doing their GCSEs, I need to be doing that. I need to fit in. Being a teenager sucks and it’s all down to that, I guess.
I used to be a very academic child, I’d always do my homework, hated getting in trouble with the teachers/handing in my homework late, I’d read all the time (and would choose that over playing outside any day) and I never really had a problem with it. I can’t blame losing all of that motivation on a teenager and being ill, but I’ll try! xD I do enjoy my reading and I love doing things from workbooks but I definitely just go “Urgh can’t be bothered.” much more than I used to. The thing is, I don’t learn from what is written down. I am much more of a practical person. I’d much rather learn how to cook than learn something complicated in maths. I’d like to learn how to grow my own vegetables than how to study Shakespeare properly (No offence to that guy. I love his work.). So yeah, anything I learn sets me up for my future so I can actually live without these bits of paper controlling what I can and can’t do.
Thankfully, my wonderful mother understands this and constantly tells me that I just need to learn at my own pace and not worry about what everyone else is doing. I don’t think that many kids my age have an interest in traditional lifestyle, I’d love to properly make my own clothes, grow my own veg, make homemade gifts/toys etc.. I also don’t think that many teenagers have an interest in current affairs and if they do the responses are either “Wow, you’re mature for your age.” or “You’re just a teenager. You shouldn’t be thinking about things like this.”. The beauty of home ed is you are free to learn what you want. That’s what education should be about and not all strict.
My mum and I had a conversation earlier saying that GCSEs and A Levels basically repeat themselves, only expanding a little bit on what you’ve learnt. So when you get to do your degree or get another qualification it’s completely new to you and you don’t know what’s going on with it because you haven’t been given the opportunity to properly study everything. Weird, isn’t it?

So anyway. I think that’s a good enough introduction to home ed and me. xD I could probably go on but I’ll save it for another day. 🙂
I hope you will enjoy following my home ed journey. 🙂
Jess

4 thoughts on “Home Ed introduction

  1. Lovely introduction 🙂 my dearest friend took ME at the start of our AS year and like you had to leave full time school( I won’t say education because I believe we are all in full time education that is called life). I know how hard it is to concentrate on stuff when you are in such pain and feel so tired. Your mum’s right though, learn at YOUR pace, learn what you want and feel interested in…..it’s your life; you don’t have to be a clone of everyone else, and the bits of paper don’t really matter much-take it from someone who’s been pushed through the sausage factory and has plenty to their name 🙂 I am also hoping to start growing my own veg etc as we want our daughter to grow up with an understanding of where food comes from and appreciate the story behind what ends up on her plate. Look forward to reading more of your HE adventures!

    • Thank you so much for your comment! 🙂 It’s really made me smile. 🙂 Like you said, it’s definitely important to understand where things are coming from. I think it enriches life, plus it’s something different to do than your normal everday life. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The days when . . . (career edition) | rosevampire

Leave a Reply

